Am I Qualified?

As my time to actively look for a job after graduation draws nearer (let’s be honest, I should be actively looking all the time, but bear with me) I go on one of my favorite sites to look for jobs/internships in the entertainment industry, Entertainmentcareers.net. Yes, it may seem quite shady at times, but I know numerous friends who have gotten offers from places such as Entertainment Tonight, Gigantic Pictures, and Apostle by using this site. I like to go on there every once in a while to see what kind of jobs are available and what they require. While perusing the lists, I always encounter one major obstacle, people don’t always label these jobs the same. To some places, broadcast solely means radio and production can cover anything from behind the scenes work to making a product on a factory line. I spend most of my job searches, sifting through all the seemingly miscellaneous posts to find ones that actually pertain to me.

Once I find a job posting that’s relevant to my interests, I look at the requirements and qualifications to see where I fit in and where I’m lacking. The first thing I notice is that I need more experience. Sometimes it feels as though entry level jobs need 3+ years experience nowadays. If there is some way I can get two more years experience in the next four months, I’ll be golden. Another thing I have noticed is that I am proficient in a lot of the different software necessary for the production world, Thanks to my time at Iona College. We do almost all of our work on Macs, so I am very familiar with the format and the school recently switched over to Adobe Premiere which has been required for many internships and positions I’ve been looking at. One thing that I need to work on is gaining experience with other software as well. It seems as though more and more companies are requiring us to have some knowledge in Avid as well, so I’m going to have to branch out to other editing formats. However, I do have the fact that I am quick on my feet and very organized going for me. For numerous positions such as Production Assistant or Executive Assistant, the number one qualification is the ability to think outside the box and keep on top of your game. Because of my various leadership positions on campus and my internship with the Marketing and Communications department at Iona have been have to find the best ways to keep organized as well as keep new ideas flowing.

Leave a Reply

